O’Farrell, Whempner Graduate as Valedictorian, Salutatorian at Summit High School

O’Farrell, Whempner Graduate
as Valedictorian, Salutatorian
    Summit High School seniors Desiree O’Farrell and Emmett Whempner will be recognized as the class of 2020’s valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively, on Saturday, May 23. 
    As a result of the COVID-19 concerns, officials at Summit High School decided against having a traditional graduation ceremony. Instead, they planned a special day of activities to commemorate graduation. It begins with free-time inside the school, during which the students can socialize and take photos in their caps and gowns. 
    There will be a graduation parade through the town beginning at 7:30 p.m. The graduates are welcome to decorate their cars and wear their gowns. Street conditions and rainfall will determine the route for the parade, but it will allow the community residents throughout the town to see the graduates. 
    The graduates and their families will have front row seats in the school parking lot for a special slide show to commemorate their graduation. The slide show will be available for the public to watch on youtube.com. There will be a short ceremony, and the graduates will receive their diplomas. 
    In addition to O’Farrell and Whempner, honor students are Matthew Robert Amdahl, Anthony Isaac Bauer, Thomas Walter Frankenhoff, Dylan Brock Lau, Cody David Minder, Emily Alice Ollerich, Damon Louis Charles Phillips, Cassie Nicole Rickard, Victoria Theresa Zirbel and Kayla Marie Zubke.
    Classmates are Sammantha Dawn Cooper, Taryn Rose Cordell, Hunter Allen Jaspers, Joseph Robin Johnston, Morgan Marie Lewandowski, Jackson Dwayne Pies, Makayla Jo Pies and Justin Joseph Zirbel. 
    “An eagle uses the storm to reach unimaginable heights,” is the class motto. The class members chose black, red and silver as their colors. The silver-tipped red rose is their flower.